Regional Coalition Of LANL Communities (RCLC) Response To DOE-IG Report

Regional Coalition logo




October 2, 2019

SANTA FE: The RCLC is pleased to see the Department of Energy Inspector General report issued and is working with the Department of Energy to provide them with the information they need to complete this process. The RCLC looks forward to continuing to represent our local communities to the Washington leadership who control the lab.

There are benefits and challenges to hosting a DOE facility.  Because the lab is part of our community, it is vital that our local leaders are a part of the conversation.  For too long our communities have been impacted by decisions from the federal and the state governments with no participation at the local level.  We need a voice.  We need a seat at the table. The RCLC is our voice. As reflected in the DOE Inspector General report the RCLC is the only organization in northern New Mexico that speaks for cleanup and improving the lab’s economic impact on our communities. Our membership consists of democratically elected officials whose residents depend on the success of the national laboratory. As such, we are pleased that this process is wrapping up and look forward to reenergizing that voice for our local communities.

Inspector General – Inspection Report, DOE-OIG-19-53_0

Press Release _RCLC Response to DOE-IG Report


ABOUT THE REGIONAL COALITION: The Regional Coalition is comprised of nine cities, towns, counties and pueblos surrounding the Department of Energy’s Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). Founded in 2011, the Regional Coalition works in partnership to ensure national decisions incorporate local needs and concerns. The organization’s focus is regional economic development and site employment, environmental remediation, and adequate funding for LANL. The 2019 Board of Directors includes Chair, Commissioner Henry Roybal, Santa Fe County; Vice-Chair, Councilor Darien Fernández, Town of Taos; Treasurer, Councilor Peter Ives, City of Santa Fe; Secretary, Councilor David Izraelevitz, Los Alamos County; Mayor Javier Sanchez, City of Española; Commissioner Leo Jaramillo, Rio Arriba County; Commissioner Tom Blankenhorn, Taos County; Representative Ron Lovato, Ohkay Owingeh; and a representative from the Pueblo of Jemez.