LANL Foundation Announces Spring 2020 Career Pathways Scholarship Recipients

LANL Foundation

Española, NM — The Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) Foundation has just awarded $62,250 in Career Pathways Scholarships to 28 students from the seven-county region of Northern New Mexico. With a $9,000 increase over the previous cycle, this was the largest amount ever presented to recipients of this scholarship. These students were chosen from an inspiring and competitive group of 70 applicants.

The Career Pathways Scholarship is available to those who have earned a high school diploma or GED/High School Equivalency (HSE), including nontraditional students and recent high school graduates, to help fund a two-year associate’s degree, professional certification or trade. Previously, awards were capped at $1,500 dollars (one year of funding at $750 per semester) and scholarships were nonrenewable, although students could reapply for a second year of funding. This year, students were eligible for up to two years of funding, with second-year renewability contingent on the student making progress toward completion of a degree or certificate.

“We were able to award more Career Pathways Scholarships this cycle due to an increase in donations to this fund and the newly established Needs-Based Scholarship Fund,” said Mike Ammerman, LANL Foundation Scholarship Program Manager. “Many people are moved to support these specific scholarships because they know their donation will make a significant impact in the lives of those in our community who need it most. Without these scholarships, many of our recipients would have to put their dreams on hold. The generosity of our donors quite literally makes dreams come true.”

Contributions from Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) employees and support from Triad National Security provide most of the Career Pathways funding, with additional support from community members via the LANL Foundation website:

The Spring 2020 Career Pathways recipients are:

Los Alamos County

  • Jessica Fry, Biology, Northern New Mexico College

Mora County

  • Pauline Medina, Early Childhood Education, Luna Community College

Rio Arriba County

  • Destiny Maestas, Nursing, Northern New Mexico College
  • Carlos Hurtado, Environmental Science, Northern New Mexico College
  • Lindsy Solomon, Nursing, Northern New Mexico College

San Miguel County

  • John Montoya, Nursing, Luna Community College
  • Masie Estep, Early Childhood Education, Luna Community College
  • Raymond Chavez, Barbering, Luna Community College

Santa Fe County

  • Gerardo Araiza, Engineering, Santa Fe Community College
  • Michael Frey, Computer Engineering, Santa Fe Community College
  • Erin Price, Nursing, Santa Fe Community College
  • Yuliia Trujillo, General Engineering and Engineering Technologies, Santa Fe Community College
  • Ashley Andazola Villagran, Computer Science and Biological Science, Santa Fe Community College
  • Robin Carrillo Ortiz, Nursing, Santa Fe Community College
  • Yaniksa Mata–Solis, General Engineering and Engineering Technology, Santa Fe Community College
  • Natoshia While, Dental Health, A.A.S., Santa Fe Community College
  • Geraldine Baca, Paralegal Studies, Santa Fe Community College
  • Ethan Price, Engineering, Santa Fe Community College
  • Bianca Sampaio, Nursing, pursuing a dual degree at University of New Mexico/Santa Fe Community College
  • Chicqueeta Whitaker, Nursing, Northern New Mexico College
  • Ariana Quintana, General Science, Santa Fe Community College
  • Carlos Arras-Castillo, Elementary Education, Northern New Mexico College
  • Erica Diaz, Civil Engineering, Santa Fe Community College
  • Dominic Rivera, Computer Science, Santa Fe Community College
  • Cesar Sanchez, Computer Science, Santa Fe Community College
  • Magen Venckus, Vocational/Technical Studies, Luna Community College

Taos County

  • Gauri Little, Associate of Pre-Science, University of New Mexico-Taos
  • Shanea Bell-Guynn, Pre-Business Administration, University of New Mexico-Taos

About These Scholarships

Career Pathways awards are made possible by the Los Alamos Employees’ Scholarship Fund (LAESF), with donations primarily made by Los Alamos National Laboratory employees, retirees and contractors and Triad National Security. The scholarship program and funds are managed by the LANL Foundation, with oversight, outreach, selections and fundraising support provided by the LAESF advisory committee of volunteer donors.

For more information, visit or contact Mike Ammerman at or 505-753-8890 ext. 115.